Nikon 70-200 VR I review: First shots

A few days ago I received my Nikon 70-200 VR I and took it around downtown San Antonio to see how she performs.

I had some spare time a few days ago and decide to take a venture around downtown San Antonio to capture some candids. There weren’t many people out and about so I was limited to certain areas to shoot. I have heard that the Nikon 70-200 VR I has some vignetting at 200mm, but it doesn’t bother me as I can imagine it does bother others. Very rarely am I completely zoomed all the way out. Other than it’s weight, I have no complaints about this piece of glass. Mounted on my D300 w/ MB-D10 it weighs a ton. The weight isn’t straining my neck as I have my Black Rapid RS-5, which is phenomenal! Now let’s get to some photos.

Here are a few test shots:

As you can see, even wide open at 2.8 the lens is pretty sharp.

Leave a Reply

