Review: Think Tank Photo Retrospective 20

I have had this bag for a few months now, and just wanted to show you guys how I use it, and what I put in it.

When ThinkTank announced yet another small camera bag, I knew I had to get one.  At the time, I only had my D300, 50 mm 1.8, and an SB-600.  I needed a bag that would feel secure enough to hold my gear, or what little gear I had at the time.  I also looked for a bag that would allow me room to grow, and stuff more and more gear in over time.   This bag does just that, and it does it well.  The Retrospective 20 comes in Pinestone or Black and is priced at $149 and $159 respectively. I got the Black one.

It’s lightweight (~2 pounds) but its very durable and secure enough to carry anything you can fit inside.

The material the bag is made of is without a doubt top notch.  Our local camera shops here in San Antonio, do not carry ThinkTank bags, so I had to basically buy it sight unseen. I attended ImagingUSA 2011 here in San Antonio, where I got to feel the bags and try them on and that is where I feel in love with ThinkTank Bags.

This is the first  ThinkTank bag that I own, and I will tell you, I will never buy another bag. PERIOD. Every detail is so well thought out, even down to the zippers are top notch. The dividers are cushy and well-placed, just as you would expect from a camera bag company founded by 2 pro photographers.

I ordered my bag through FroKnowsPhoto.com and got a Cable Management 20 bag for free because I spent $50 or more. Definitely buy yours through the FRO!

Here is a list of what I can fit inside my Think Tank Retrospective 20:

Nikon D300 w/MB-D10 attached

Nikkor 85mm 1.8D

Nikkor 50mm 1.8D

Nikkor 70-200mm 2.8 VR I

Nikon SB-600 (2)

Inside Think Tank Cable Management 20 (inside front pocket):

Black Rapid RS-5 Strap

Paul C. Buff CyberSync CST/CSRB (2)

Sanyo Eneloop Batteries (8)/ Charger

Misc cables/chargers

Apple iPad

Leave a Reply

